Develop Your Content Strategy Now!

In reading about marketing trends for 20131 you’ll notice content marketing is the wave of the future. I am a strong believer that this is definitely true. The amount of information being produced is absolutely staggering; at Word Press alone they note over 30 million blog posts per month2. The problem that I see is that more than 90% tends to be junk. There are not a lot of people out there who are truly experts in what it is they are discussing. I read a lot of articles that focus on the basics of this or that. These articles are great and all but what happens when you want to dive deeper? I have found that there is a steady drop-off in quality content beyond introductory information.

So what does this mean for content marketing? Find your niche. There it is right there, I just provided my own pet peeve. However, here is why I say this; think of content marketing much like you would a business environment. There are a ton of competitors out there doing the same thing you are for most likely the same price (free!).   If people are paying for your content then good for you, you are not the target of this post as you have already shown yourself as such an expert someone is willing to pay for what you produce.

If we look at many industries over the last 100 years or so, we see the boom and bust of countless companies trying to figure out where they fit. There were over 2,000 US automakers at one time, 80 companies making computers in 1992 no longer exist, and there are countless other industries with the same result. Content marketing will go the same route. I look at my twitter feed and see it jam packed with links to content every day.  What I have come to find out is that there are really only a few people I follow that provide the information which is really valuable. So what do I do? I find myself constantly visiting their feeds directly to see what it is they are reading and positing.

As content marketing evolves I believe that there will be those who figure out how to do it successfully and those who will get left in the dust. I’m not saying that you won’t be able to produce something really great that will reach a lot of people, I’m just saying that I think it will be hard to get consistent interaction from a mass amount of people if you haven’t defined your niche. In the end it all depends on what it is you are trying to do. If you are working in B2B then I think that finding out the issues that trouble your customers should be addressed. I’m a big believer that when producing content it’s not all about you. It is encouraging to customers when you talk about their problems and see that these are the issues you regularly tackle. This is what will keep customers coming back for more.

1. http://econsultancy.com/us/reports/quarterly-digital-intelligence-briefing-digital-trends-for-2013

2. http://en.wordpress.com/stats/

Leave a Reply

